top of page
Post: Blog2_Post


TJ Watt wins the Steelers MVP award in Back-to-Back Seasons

TJ Watt deserves every single defensive award the NFL can give out this season. Last season he was robbed of the Defensive Player of the Year Award, but he was voted the Steelers MVP last season. Fast forward to this season and he had an even more impressive 2020 campaign. Today it was announced TJ Watt was voted the team's MVP again. No player has won the Steelers MVP award in back-to-back season since James Harrison in 2007 and 2008.

Watt is the sixth player in Steelers history to win the award in consecutive seasons. TJ Watt currently is leading the NFL with 15 sacks. He is on pace to break James Harrison's Single Season Sack record, but it was reported today he would sit out against the Browns on Sunday. That's two seasons now he was 1 game short of breaking Harrison's Single Season Sack Record. Coach Tomlin even said during his press conference this season that Watt is not from this planet.

"T.J. is visiting from another planet, to be quite honest with you," said Coach Mike Tomlin. "He has freakishly unique talent coupled with freakishly unique work habits and mindset, and it produces what you guys witness every week, which in my opinion, is Defensive Player of the Year quality."

TJ Watt is the first player in Steelers history to record more than 14 sacks in two consecutive seasons. He was named the AFC Defensive Player of the Month in September and November. Watt also won Defensive Player of the Week against the Broncos in Week 2 as well. He is also on pace to win the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year award this season. The Steelers better get ready to back the brinks truck up because Watt is worth every single penny and should get paid big time in Pittsburgh. Congratulations on TJ Watt being named the Steelers MVP in back-to-back seasons.

1969 - Roy Jefferson, WR 1970 - Joe Greene, DT 1971 - Andy Russell, LB 1972 - Franco Harris, RB 1973 - Ron Shanklin, WR 1974 - Glen Edwards, S 1975 - Mel Blount, CB 1976 - Jack Lambert, LB 1977 - Terry Bradshaw, QB 1978 - Terry Bradshaw, QB 1979 - John Stallworth, WR 1980 - Donnie Shell, SS 1981 - Jack Lambert, LB 1982 - Dwayne Woodruff, CB 1983 - Gary Anderson, K 1984 - John Stallworth, WR 1985 - Louis Lipps, WR 1986 - Bryan Hinkle, LB 1987 - Mike Merriweather, LB 1988 - David Little, LB & Rod Woodson, CB 1989 - Louis Lipps, WR 1990 - Rod Woodson, CB 1991 - Greg Lloyd, LB 1992 - Barry Foster, RB 1993 - Rod Woodson, CB 1994 - Greg Lloyd, LB 1995 - Neil O'Donnell, QB 1996 - Jerome Bettis, RB 1997 - Jerome Bettis, RB 1998 - Levon Kirkland, LB 1999 - Levon Kirkland, LB 2000 - Jerome Bettis, RB 2001 - Kordell Stewart, QB 2002 - Joey Porter, LB & Hines Ward, WR 2003 - Hines Ward, WR 2004 - James Farrior, LB 2005 - Casey Hampton, NT & Hines Ward, WR 2006 - Willie Parker, RB 2007 - James Harrison, LB 2008 - James Harrison, LB 2009 - Ben Roethlisberger, QB 2010 - Troy Polamalu, S 2011 - Antonio Brown, WR 2012 - Heath Miller, TE 2013 - Antonio Brown, WR 2014 - Le'Veon Bell, RB 2015 - Antonio Brown, WR 2016 - Le'Veon Bell, RB 2017 - Antonio Brown, WR 2018 - JuJu Smith-Schuster, WR 2019 - T.J. Watt, LB 2020 - T.J. Watt, LB

139 views0 comments


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page