top of page
Post: Blog2_Post


TJ Watt Wins AFC Defensive Player of the Year Award

TJ Watt had another great season with the Pittsburgh Steelers. He finished the 2020 season in Week 15 with 53 combined tackles, 43 solo tackles, 23 tackles for loss, 41 quarterback hits, and 15 total sacks. Mike Tomlin chose to sit TJ Watt out during Week 17 against the Browns so he was 2 shy from breaking James Harrison's single-season sack record. Today TJ Watt was named the AFC Defensive Player of the Year by 101 national media that cover the NFL. TJ's brother JJ Watt has won that award four times.

TJ Watt was also named the Steelers MVP for a second straight year. Even Coach Tomlin had praise saying TJ comes from another planet. Tomlin also endorsed Watt for the NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award set to be announced on February 6th a day before the Super Bowl. TJ was also voted to the Pro-Bowl for the second time of his career this season. Watt is also the first player in Steelers history to have 14 plus sacks in multiple seasons. He was named AFC Defensive Player of the Month twice in 2020 and the AFC Defensive Player of the Week in Week 2 against the Broncos.

According to Watt joins an illustrious list of former Steelers who won the AFC Defensive Player of the Year Award in the past, including Troy Polamalu (2010), James Harrison (2008), Carnell Lake (1997), Greg Lloyd (1994), Rod Woodson (1993), Jack Lambert (1976), Mel Blount (1975), and Joe Greene (1972, 74).

2,159 views0 comments
bottom of page