top of page
Post: Blog2_Post


T.J. Watt is named 101 Awards AFC Defensive Player of the Year

(Photo by Joe Sargent/Getty Images)

T.J. Watt was selected as the 101 Awards AFC Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year. The award is chosen by a national selection committee that includes 101 national media that cover the NFL. Watt will be presented with the award at the 52nd Annual 101 Awards Gala in March.

Watt joins Joe Greene as the only two Steelers to win the award more than once. Greene won the award in 1972 and 1974.

Along with Greene, other Steelers who have won the NFL 101 AFC Defensive Player of the Year Award in the past include Troy Polamalu (2010), James Harrison (2008), Carnell Lake (1997), Greg Lloyd (1994), Rod Woodson (1993), Jack Lambert (1976) and Mel Blount (1975).

With producing 22.5 sacks this season and tying the single-season sack record with Michael Strahan, Watt should be a lock for Defensive Player of the Year, which is voted on by the Associated Press. Watt was named first-team All-Pro unanimously by the AP in 2021.

Watt is one of only two players in NFL history to have 20 plus sacks in 14 or fewer games since sacks became an official statistic in 1982. The only other one to do it was Hall of Famer Reggie White, who had 21 sacks in 12 games in 1987 in a strike-shortened season.

Watt was named to the Pro Bowl for the fourth consecutive season and was voted as the Steelers' MVP by his teammates for the third straight year. This is the third consecutive year that Watt's been named first-team All-Pro.

322 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page